Orcadia Deep Wheel by Harry Josephine Giles and published by Picador was announced as the 36e winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Prize, the UK’s most prestigious award for science fiction literature.

The winner was revealed at an awards ceremony hosted by the Science Museum in London, and the prize was presented by Dr Glyn Morgan, senior curator of the museum’s blockbuster exhibition. Science fiction: journey to the edge of the imagination.

Jury President Dr. Andrew M. Butler said, “This year the judges reviewed over 100 novels with remarkable commitment and rigor. Every step of the winner zoom was the conversation of informed readers at the top of their game. Orcadia Deep Wheel is the kind of book that makes you rethink what SF can do and makes the reading experience weird in a new and exciting way. It’s as if the language itself became the hero of the book and the genre grew richer.

Dr Glyn Morgan said: ‘It’s really exciting to bring the Clarke Prize back to the Science Museum as part of the launch celebrations around our new landmark science fiction exhibit. Looks like gender is more relevant than ever. Not only do the issues it faces regularly make the headlines and popular discussions, but the modern genre is also more energetic and dynamic with a diverse and more representative cast of writers. Today might be science fiction’s most important era as it equips our global culture not only with blockbusters and bestsellers, but also with the tools to imagine the future and choose a path for ourselves. , our societies and our world.

Harry Josephine Giles receives a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend and cash prize worth £2022.00; a tradition that sees the annual award gradually increase from year to year beginning in the year 2001 in memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke.

The 2021 Arthur C. Clarke Prize jury was composed of:

  • Crispin Black, British Science Fiction Association
  • Stark Holborn, British Science Fiction Association
  • Phoenix Alexander, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Nicole Devarenne, Science Fiction Foundation
  • Nick Hubble, SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival
  • Dr. Andrew M. Butler, Non-Voting Judges Chair, Serendip Foundation

Comments are closed.